Beach Blast 15 • May 17, 2009

We here at Mike Kelly’s Cruise News hosted our Beach Blast 15 Car Show on May 17th, 2009 at the Holiday Inn Cocoa Beach Resort. The event is limited to the first 200 pre-registered vehicles with pre-registration starting in January, and due to popularity this year’s event sold out in less than a month!

The Beach Blast was again made possible by our main sponsor, Ron Hassel of All-Midwest Sales, a major parts manufacturers’ representative company. Advance Auto Parts returned again to not only co-sponsor the show, but also be the main door prize sponsor. Valvoline and Eagle One also contributed items to be given away as door prizes again this year. We can’t stress how integral all of these companies are in making the Beach Blast a reality, so if you’re in need of the products they offer keep them in mind when purchasing.

The Beach Bast could also not happen without those who help us run the event, so a big “Thank You” goes out to Bob Arnold, Jack Messemer, Billy Craft, and Ed Fitzpatrick. They put in more hours than many of you will ever realize, and we appreciated the efforts....and friendship. We’d also like to thank C&D Golf Carts in Titusville (321-268-4882) for again providing us with some great looking golf carts, which really come in handy over the 3 or 4 days we spend at the Holiday Inn.

While the “official” show day is on Sunday, a majority of the participants arrive at least a day or two early to enjoy all that the area has to offer, including Ron Jon Surf Shop, Kennedy Space Center, casino cruises out of Port Canaveral, and more. The Holiday Inn also has great facilities, which include a huge swimming pool with an adjoining children’s “Pirate Ship” mini water park, and direct access to beautiful Cocoa Beach at the end of the winding brick promenade. As a result the Beach Blast is known as a very family friendly event, as it appeals to not only auto enthusiasts, but their whole family as well since there is indeed something for everyone.

With so many participants already on hand we have an informal “cruise-in” on Friday and Saturday nights, with Butch and Jennifer Johnston of WJBJ Cruisin’ With The Classics providing a great mix of music, as well as running the 50/50 raffles. We also give out the registration packets to those in attendance from 7:00-9:00pm on Friday and Saturday nights, which include a magnetic dash plaque and one free T-Shirt with great original Beach Blast artwork by Adam Icenogle, both printed by Daytona Trophy.

Vouchers for promenade parking are given out to about 50 or 60 vehicles based on a first come first served basis on Friday at 9:00pm, with those vehicles moving into the promenade area on Saturday morning starting at 10:00am.

On Sunday participants vote on the vehicles in attendance, enjoy more music by WJBJ Cruisin’ With The Classics, and ogle all the great cars and trucks in attendance. At 3:00pm the focus turns to the beach front Ocean Deck at the end of the promenade, as Butch and Jennifer Johnston start by giving away door prizes, then Mike and Michael Kelly present the Top 40 and Specialty awards, with the show coming to a close with the drawing of Sunday’s winning 50/50 raffle ticket.

One of the other things we do every year is honor some of the vehicles in attendance to appear on the cover of upcoming magazines. This includes the Best Of Show recipient (which also appears on the following year’s event artwork), the Cruise News Choice recipient, and sometimes other vehicles that catch our eye.

Thanks again to Ron Hassel of All-Midwest Sales and Advance Auto Parts for making the show possible, and to all those who came to this year’s event. We’re already looking forward to the 2010 show, and hope to see everyone again next year....continue the tradition of fun in Cocoa Beach!

Pre-registration for next year’s Beach Blast 16 will open on January 1st, 2010 with printable registration forms available on our web site (here), plus there will be forms in the January issue of our printed magazine. The 200 spots go very fast though, so be sure and act early if you plan to attend. We look forward to seeing everyone again! CN

Best Paint:
Paul Sykora • 1937 Ford 3-Window Coupe
Best Engine: Mark Strawder • 1957 Chevy 2-Door Sedan
Best Interior: Steve & Debbie Peel • Pro-Street Corvette
Tom Staggs Memorial: Chris Zieman • 1971 Plymouth Hemi Cuda Convert.
Cruise News Choice: Pat Snead • 1941 Studebaker Champion
Best Of Show: Keith Ward • 1933 Ford Pickup

TOP 40:
Gail & Harry Buffkin • 1940 Ford Pickup
Fred Golsner • 1939 Ford Coupe
Matt & Margaret Mattingly • 1967 Chevy Camaro
Frank Dillander • 1938 Chevy Sedan
Bill & Janie Von Hofen • 1957 Chevy Bel Air
Wayne & Judy Newkirk • 1957 Ford Custom 300
Steve Edenfield • 1932 Ford 5-Window Coupe
Ronnie & Pam Edge • 1978 Pontiac Trans Am
Ralph, Megan & Darby Hendricks • 1967 Camaro RS
Tim & T.J. Brown • 1972 Chevy C-10 Pickup
Don & Pat Raker • 1955 Cadillac 2-Door Hardtop
Richard Cabaniss • 1963 Ford Galaxie 500XL
Jeff Sawicki • 1969 Mustang Mach 1
Bruce Arnold • 1969 Camaro RS/SS 396
Herb Samuels • 1959 Chevy Apache Pickup
John Semitecolos • 1955 Chevy Nomad
Jim Hanser • 1940 Willys Coupe
Jeanne Kilgore • 1969 Chevy SS 396 Convertible
John Canepa • 1962 Chevy Impala
Howard Krusey • 1932 Ford Hiboy Roadster
Darrell Johnson Sr. • 1962 Chevy Imapala Convertible
Darrell Johnson Sr. • 1957 Chevy Convertible
Tom Brown • 1935 Packard Roadster
Bill Nice • 1947 Chevy Coupe
Martin & Wil Nielsen • 1960 V.W. Double Cab Pickup
Harland Kananen • 1941 Willys Coupe
Floyd & Ruby Miner • 1948 Chevy Van
Oliver Copley Jr. • 1957 Chevy Bel Air
Stephen J. Giambra • 1957 Chevy Bel Air
Doug & Julie Klapstein • 1956 Ford Big Window Pickup
Richard & Christina King • 1966 GMC Pickup
Buzz St. John • 1951 Mercury Custom Coupe
Robert Manley • 1959 Ford Ranchero
Sandy & Lynda Cordova • 1963 Chevy II Nova
Don Shollenbarger • 1957 Chevy Bel Air Sedan
Michael & Cheryl Pocquette • 1956 Chevy
Craig Maloy • 1948 Chevy Pickup
Bill & Melanie Porter • 1946 Hudson Commodore 8
Rick Klimek • 1969 Camaro Pro-Street
Joe & Tina Furnari • 1932 Ford Phaeton