Click on thumbnails to see full size images and captions
Indian River Car Show • 2006

The 31st Annual Indian River Car Show took place on April 22nd & 23rd, 2006, and drew lots of great vehicles to Titusville. This two-day antique, classic, rod, custom car and truck show is hosted by the Vintage Vehicles, and takes place annually at the beautiful Sand Point Park on the Point, located at US 1 and Garden Street. This unique location features a peninsula, with water on all three sides of the grassy show field where the vehicles are displayed. This really adds a leisurely feel, plus spectacular scenery. In fact, in years past participants and spectators alike have been treated to manatees frolicking in the adjacent waters! Obviously that occurrence is up to the manatees, not the Vintage Vehicles....but at how many other car shows is it even a possibility?

On both Saturday and Sunday there were lots of gorgeous cars and trucks on hand, with each day being held as its own independent show. That means both days featured Top 25 trophies, plus Best Paint, Best Engine, Best Interior, Sponsor’s Choice, Chairman’s Choice, Mayor’s Choice, and the prestigious U.S. Space Walk of Fame Award. Colorful event T-Shirts were included with pre-registration, commemorative pins featuring the event artwork went to the first 200 registered participants each day, plus there were goody bags, door prizes, a sizeable 50/50 raffle, and a $1,000 tool giveaway each day! DJ’s Butch and Jennifer Johnston of WJBJ Cruisin’ With The Classics provided the ambiance via great oldies music, plus there were carnival rides, games, an arts and crafts show, lots of food and a beer garden.

A special Saturday only feature was the Engine Blow Contest pitting Ford vs. Chevy vs. Chrysler, with the Chevy holding out the longest, and Air Bag Demos to emphasize the proper use of these safety devices.

As usual we had a great time at this well organized two-day event, and it seemed everyone else in attendance was equally pleased judging by the smiles on everyone’s faces. Be sure and keep an eye out for the announcement of next year’s dates in our Coming Attractions section, and make your plans to attend. You can participate at either Saturday or Sunday independantly....or make a weekend out of it and go both days. With the scenery, sun, and family fun there is certainly plenty to keep you entertained. We’ll extend the reservations to the manatees, and hope to see you next year as well. For more info visit CN

Saturday's Top 25:
Robin & Audrey Caldwell • 1962 Dodge Polara
Wayne Darby • 1971 Plymouth GTX
Diane Lariveee • 1968 Plymouth Barracuda
Gene Garvey • 1930 Ford Model A
Gary Thompson • 1955 Chevy Bel Air
Don & Brenda Hess • 1968 Mustang Cobra
Harley Kananen • 1941 Willys Coupe
Gilles Rodier • 1940 Ford Woody Convertible
Dan & Jackie Gloger • 1970 Dodge Challenger
Kay & Dave Barnes • 1940 Ford Convertible
Richard Pusi • 1957 Chevrolet
Kevin Montague • 1966 Pontiac GTO
John Larson • 1957 Jaguar Mark 8
Robert Grover • 1939 Ford
Bob Rattiger • 1923 Ford T-Bucket
Chris Teed • 1968 Chevy Nova
Don & Brenda Hess • 1968 Pontiac GTO
George Johnson • 1966 Chevrolet Corvette
Bob & Sharon McNicol • 1939 Chevrolet
Russ Gilman • 1929 Ford Roadster
Dave & JAcky Rothermund • 1966 Ford Galaxie
Buster & Wanda LaFauvre • 1970 Mercury Cougar
Mark Crosby • 1972 Oldsmobile 98
Duane LaRoche • 1937 Oldsmobile
Larry & Anita Kirk • 1966 Mustang

Saturday's Specialty Awards:
Best Interior: Dick Mets • 1939 Ford
Best Paint: Greg & Carol Lombardo • 1940 Ford
Best Engine: Dennis McCheskey • 1981 Chevy Camaro
Sponsor’s Choice: Bruce & Reta Lombardi • 1933 Ford
Chairman’s Choice: Robert Shearer • 1970 Plymouth Superbird
Mayor’s Choice: David Mann • 1934 Ford
US Space Walk of Fame Award: Karen Watkins • 1938 Lincoln Zephyr
Tom Staggs Memorial Award: Jack Maxey • 1958 Oldsmobile 88

Sunday's Top 25:
Ted Dixon • 1946 Mercury
Gary Barnes • 1994 Chevy Pickup
Richard Brouillard • 1938 REO Speedwagon
Ken Bland • 1932 Ford
Richard Aton • 1957 Ford Thunderbird
Nancy Thompson • 1962 Chevy Corvette
Gary Collins • 1966 Ford Fairlane
Ramon Gonzalez • 1955 Chevy Bel Air
Roy Hall • 1953 Chevy Pickup
Spence Wegner • 1950 Ford Truck
Steve Pruski • 1957 Chevy Bel Air
Craig Gilbert • 2005 Ford Mustang
Bev Springer • 1966 Ford Mustang
Otto Horvath • 1932 Ford
John Rio • 1966 Ford Fairlane
Bernard O’Neil • 1955 Chevy Bel Air
Steve Pruski • 1956 Ford Crown Victoria
Joseph Thomas • 1972 Plymouth Duster
Richard Seeley • 1951 Ford Victory
Rick & Becky Seeley • 1949 Ford Pickup
John Brothers • 1969 Ford Mustang
Steve Mascis • 1997 Dodge Ram
Chuck & Eddie Lowdermilk • 1950 Ford Custom
Scott Kisner • 1932 Chevrolet
Kirk Hussleman • 1968 Chevy Nova

Sunday's Specialty Awards:
Best Interior: Bruce & Reta Lombardi • 1933 Ford Cabriolet
Best Paint: Bill Strob • 1937 Ford Pickup
Best Engine: Bob Cox • 1923 Ford T-Bucket
Sponsor’s Choice: Ed Vensel • 1951 Henry J
Chairman’s Choice: John Canepa • 1962 Chevy Impala
Mayor’s Choice: Mike Panopoulos • 1959 Ford Thunderbird
US Space Walk of Fame Award: Wayne Leithner • 1955 Pontiac Premiere